Happy New Year!

After almost three weeks away I’m back to my blog and, as I promised in my last post of 2012, with fresh photo material from our trip to Johannesburg, South Africa.

Firstly, I have to share with you my joy over the photography related Christmas present I got from my husband. Seeing that I am becoming more and more interested and passionate about taking photos, learning into the ins and outs of digital photography, I received a new laptop of my own to work on AND Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 to start becoming able in photo editing as well. So happy!

These following photos were taken at The Willows in Johannesburg. The Willows is, how shall I put it, a paradise in the midst of the shabby and the more underprivileged, a gated community, not uncommon or rather say, very common in South Africa. I feel a bit guilty to admit that I like it (in the previously mentioned context), but because it offers a home to me and my family when visiting, I succumb to its charm. It’s got everything for a peaceful living (aimed at young families and the elderly) -nice architecture, lots of green- and well-maintained grass, (willow)trees, an abundance of flowers and rich birdlife, a river running through it, a lake with waterlilies and fish, bridges crossing the waters, playgrounds, inviting swimming pools, the chirping of the birds, friendly neighbours…. ahhh. It’s beautiful.

Reflection in the Willows (edited)

Bridge in the Willows (edited)

Waterlilies in the Willows (edited)

Rock (edited)

Can't Remember Tree (edited)

View Over the Lake (edited)

Leave a comment