Lone Feather

I’m sure lots of you heard about or even experienced the ‘writer’s block’. Many accomplished writers suffer from a blockage of creativity or inspiration, and at times it can be truly hard to overcome it. I, as an aspiring writer, have come across it too. For me, in fact, it has been now years. The truth is since I’ve had my daughter, two years ago, I haven’t even had either the time or the state of mind to sit down and write in a continuous, regular way. Also, I’m under the impression that I had felt my most creative when I was a little miserable (lonely, sad, despondent, or even disillusioned) and since I’ve found happiness having met my now husband and then having our first child together, settling down as a family, my muse(s) have left me.

I’ve read somewhere a while ago that Paulo Coelho believes greatly in ‘omens’ or signs to prompt him writing a new book. He only starts writing a new one after finding a white feather…. In his words:

The white feather thing started before my first book, The Pilgrimage. I asked myself, shall I write that book? I was not sure and I said if I see a feather today, I’m going to write; if I don’t see it it’s not in my destiny. I found it so I said I have to write. And the next book, I followed the same ritual and then it became a tradition and now I cannot write unless I find a white feather.

The other day I was out and about around Reigate, and I found a feather, this feather, of which I took a picture, mostly because it reminded me of Paulo Coelho’s well-known habit (even if this one wasn’t a special white, but a common one). I wanted to share this image with you, with anyone who thinks they can find it useful. Finding this feather didn’t give me a great surge of creativity to grab a pen again and write, but who knows, maybe it will or already has for someone….

Lone feather (resized)

Leave a Reply

